zabuton

A Japanese cushion for sitting.

zabuton-traditional-japanese

Thoreau warned, “Beware of all enterprises that require new clothes,” and I wanted to beware of all meditation practices that required new stuff; on the other hand, if I was going to meditate every day, a better sitting pillow seemed like a worthwhile investment (even for an underbuyer like me). I looked online and was amazed by the assortment of meditation paraphernalia on offer. I’d never heard of a “zabuton zafu set,” but when I saw a picture, it looked like exactly what I needed.

Definition from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License (via Wordnik); image from northmeditation.com

One thought on “zabuton

Leave a Reply

