salwar

Loose trousers worn by men and women in South Asia.

schoolgirls_in_shalwar_kameez2c_abbotabad_pakistan_-_uk_international_development

Note: Shalwar kameez is a traditional outfit originating in South Asia. It is a generic term used to describe different styles of dress. The shalwar kameez can be worn by both men and women, but styles differ by gender. The shalwar (pantaloons/drawers) and the kameez (body shirt) are two garments combined to form the shalwar kameez.

I reach into my chest bag – I wear the salwar kameez, like most other men and women here, effectively pocketless – and bring out what would have been my iPod a few seconds/five minutes ago.

[…]

I sit back again, adjusting my legs in the voluminous salwars so that they are precisely in line with the X of legs supporting the little table.

Definition from Wiktionary, Creative Commons Attribution/Share-Alike License (via Wordnik); image from Wikipedia

One thought on “salwar

Leave a comment